SDB Academy

About the Academy

The mission of the Society for Developmental Biology Academy is to recognize and celebrate the achievements of long-standing SDB members who have made significant contributions to the Society’s overarching goals, while positively engaging with the Society. These contributions may be diverse in nature and include research, mentorship, education, inclusion, and otherwise fostering advancement of the Society and the broader developmental biology community. Elected members of the Academy will serve as ambassadors for SDB. Moreover, the Academy provides a community to those members who demonstrate a long-term commitment to the Society.

2023 SDB Academy Elected Members

Marnie Halpern headshot

Geisel School of Medicine at Dartmouth
Cecelia Moens headshot

Fred Hutchinson Cancer Center

Sally Moody headshot

George Washington University
Nipam Patel

Marine Biological Laboratory
Nicole Theodosiou headshot

Union College
Graciela Unguez headshot

New Mexico State University
Mark Van Doren headshot

Johns Hopkins University
Davind Weisblat headhot

University of California, Berkeley
Deborah Yelon headshot

University of California, San Diego
Joseph Yost headshot

University of Utah

2023 SDB Academy Honorary Members

Honorary Membership is a special recognition conferred upon SDB Presidents, Developmental Biology Editors-in-Chief, Conklin medalists, Lifetime Achievement awardees, and Hamburger Outstanding Educator Prize winners who meet eligibility for their exceptional leadership, contributions and dedication to SDB and the field of developmental biology.

All SDB Academy Members

SDB Academy Nomination

SDB Academy Election Committee

The SDB Academy Election Committee (AEC) is tasked with developing guidelines for the Academy selection process and providing recommendations to the Board of Directors. The AEC ensures that the Society acknowledges a broader array of SDB members who have significantly contributed to the field and impacted SDB’s growth and success.

SDB is grateful for the following inaugural AEC members.

  • Ken Cho, University of California, Irvine, SDB President-elect and Chair of AEC
  • Richard Behringer, University of Texas MD Anderson Cancer Center
  • Carmen Domingo, San Francisco State University
  • Madison Martinez, University of Texas Southwestern Medical Center  
  • Athula Wikramanayake, University of Miami