Announcing 2023 SDB Academy Members


We are excited to announce the 2023 elected members of the Society for Developmental Biology Academy, a new initiative to recognize and celebrate our dedicated long-standing SDB members. These individuals have demonstrated sustained contributions to developmental biology through excellence in professional activities including research, mentoring, teaching, and training, coupled with a record of engagement with and/or service to the Society. Each year up to ten members will be elected to the Academy.

Elected members of the Academy, alongside honorary members which include Past SDB Presidents, Editors-in-Chief of Developmental Biology, Conklin medalists, Victor Hamburger Outstanding Education Prize winners, and Lifetime Achievement awardees will serve as ambassadors for SDB to amplify our mission and values.

Below are the inaugural elected members of the SDB Academy. Please join us in extending our warmest congratulations to these outstanding SDB members!

2023 SDB Academy Elected Members


Marnie Halpern headshot

Marnie E. Halpern

Geisel School of Medicine at Dartmouth




Cecelia Moens headshot

Cecilia B. Moens

Fred Hutchinson Cancer Center

Sally Moody headshot

Sally A. Moody

George Washington University




Nipam Patel headshot

Nipam H. Patel

Marine Biological Laboratory

Nicole Theodosiou headshot

Nicole Theodosiou

Union College


Graciela Unguez headshot

Graciela Alexandra Unguez

New Mexico State University

Mark Van Doren headshot 

Mark Van Doren

Johns Hopkins University


 David Weisblat headshot

David A. Weisblat

University of California, Berkeley

 Deborah Yelon headshot

Deborah Yelon

University of California, San Diego


 Joseph Yost

H. Joseph Yost

University of Utah




Last Updated 06/05/2023