

NOMINATION for 2014 EDWIN G. CONKLIN MEDAL in DEVELOPMENTAL BIOLOGY

<u>Objective</u>: Awarded yearly by the **Society for Developmental Biology (SDB)** to recognize a developmental biologist who has made and is continuing to make extraordinary research contributions to the field, and who is also an excellent mentor who has helped train the next generation of outstanding scientists.

<u>Eligibility</u>: Exceptional developmental biologists who are actively contributing to the field, and who will be able to deliver the award lecture at the SDB 73rd Annual Meeting, to be held at the University of Washington, Seattle, WA, July 17-21, 2014.

<u>Nomination</u>: The candidates are not required to be SDB members, but they must be nominated by **two SDB members in good standing.** Nominating letters must explain why the nominee deserves the award, list the specific contributions to the field of developmental biology and include the candidate's affiliation, phone, FAX and email address.

<u>Selection</u>: An Awards Committee of SDB Directors and members chaired by President-elect (Lee Niswander for 2014 award) will consider all nominations and will make recommendations to the SDB Board of Directors who will make the final selection at its January 2014 meeting.

<u>Prizes</u>: A check in the amount of \$2,000 and a plaque with E.G. Conklin's image will be presented to the winner at the award lecture. The travel and housing to the annual meeting for delivery of the lecture will be covered by SDB, and the meeting registration fee will be waived.

<u>Deadline for receipt of nominations for 2014 Medal</u>: **December 15, 2013**. One complete nomination packet in PDF must be sent to SDB office by email (<u>ichow@sdbonline.org</u>) with "Conklin Medal" in the subject line.

<u>Past medalists</u>: J.P. Trinkaus, John W. Saunders, Jr., Elizabeth D. Hay, Thomas C. Kaufman, Clement Markert, Charles B. Kimmel, John B. Gurdon, Gail R. Martin, Allan Spradling, Matthew Scott, Nicole LeDouarin, Trudi Schupbach, Janet Rossant, Elizabeth J. Robertson, David Kingsley, Nori Satoh, Ruth Lehmann, Cliff Tabin, Marianne Bronner.

Edwin G. Conklin Medal Page

SDB Awards Page