

NOMINATION for 2014 VIKTOR HAMBURGER OUTSTANDING EDUCATOR PRIZE

<u>Objective</u>: Established in 2002 by the Board of Directors and sponsored by the Professional Development and Education Committee of the **Society for Developmental Biology (SDB)**, this award recognizes individuals who have made outstanding contributions to developmental biology education.

<u>Eligibility</u>: A nominee must have made outstanding contributions to education in developmental biology or related disciplines. Contributions will be construed in the broadest context and may include teaching at any level; training professionals; organizing and administrating programs; integrating developmental biology into our educational system; or disseminating reliable information to professional members, to prospective developmental biologists, to students in other fields, or to the general public. The prize winner must be able to deliver the award lecture at the SDB Annual Meeting.

<u>Nominations</u>: Candidates are not required to be SDB members but must be nominated at least by **two SDB members in good standing**. Nomination letters must explain why the nominee deserves the award, list the specific contributions to education in developmental biology and include the candidate's affiliation, phone, FAX and email address.

<u>Selection</u>: The SDB Professional Development and Education Committee will review the nominations and make recommendations to the Awards Committee composed of SDB Directors and members chaired by President-elect (Lee Niswander for 2014 award). The SDB Board of Directors will make the final selection at its January 2014 meeting.

<u>Prizes</u>: A check in the amount of \$2,000 and an award with V. Hamburger's image will be presented to the winner at the SDB 73rd Annual Meeting to be held at the University of Washington, Seattle, WA, July 17-21, 2014. The winner will be invited to deliver a lecture at the meeting, with travel and housing covered by SDB, and the meeting registration fee will be waived.

<u>Deadline for receipt of nominations for 2014 award</u>: **December 15, 2013**. Complete nomination packet in PDF must be sent to SDB office by email (<u>ichow@sdbonline.org</u>) with "Hamburger Prize" in the subject line.

<u>Past recipients</u>: Scott Gilbert, Lewis Wolpert, Leon Browder, Bruce Alberts, Robert DeHaan, Eugenie Scott, Leland Johnson, Sean B. Carroll, Maxine Singer, Mary S. Tyler, Steve Farber and Jamie Shuda (BioEYES), Bill Wood.

<u>Viktor Hamburger Prize Page</u>

SDB Awards Page